Bad calls happen all the time. So do good calls, but it is the bad ones that people remember.
The Ducks were victims of a bad call on Sunday in a 3-2 loss against Boston, with a goal waived off due to alleged goaltender interference. While there is still some complaining about the call going on, what is being missed is the fact that the Ducks made a couple of critical errors that led to two quick goals by Boston in the middle period.
Eliminate those errors, and the bad call doesn’t matter. The Ducks still have not figured that out, however.
Boston was playing the second of back to back games and the Ducks should have capitalized. They did not. This is also why the Bruins are the defending Stanley Cup champions and the Ducks are not even in the running.
In the second period Zdeno Chara and Benoit Pouliot scored 1:22 apart. Francois Beauchemin failed to clear the puck from the zone. Chara took his shot from just inside the blue liine and to add insult to injury, Beauchemin tipped it past Jonas Hiller at 4:37.
Pouliot’s goal at 5:59 made it 2-0. Boston was 34-0-0 this season when taking a two goal lead at any point. Those stats did not change.
Teemu Selanne put the Ducks on the board with a power play goal at 9:11. It was his 248th power play goal, more than a third of his 661 goals. The 41 year old, who could be playing in his last season (or not), is now fourth place all time on the power play goals list and only two more will put him in third.
“There’s more inside me that wants to play than retire,” Selanne recently confessed. “But it’s got to be 100 percent when I make the decision.”
Selanne will have a lot of time to make that decision, because the Ducks are all but mathematically eliminated from the playoffs. It would take the Ducks winning every single game and all the teams ahead of them to lose every single one. Not happening.
The Ducks appeared to tie up the game in the third period at 7:22. Matt Beleskey had his puck cross the line past Marty Turco, the former Dallas Stars netminder whom the Ducks have seen more than enough. The referees waived off the goal, stating that Andrew Cogliano had interfered with Turco.
Can you say livid coach? Bruce Boudreau was not happy with the call.
“I was ready to hit him,” said Boudreau of his intentions towards the ref. “What do you want me to say? It cost us. It cost us the game. Sure they got another goal, but, I mean, we would have played completely different if it was a 2-2 tie with 10 minutes to go.”
Instead of a tie game, Brian Rolston made it 3-1 at 13:06. It turned out to be the game winner, despite Lubomir Visnovsky bringing Anaheim back within one at 17:31.
“The whole thing is tough to swallow,” said Ryan Getzlaf. “We’ve worked really hard the last three months. We just had such a big hole to come out of. I guess we’ll see what happens Wednesday.”
On Wednesday, the math may have already played out before the Ducks tackle San Jose for the final time this season.